

## IEEE VR 2022 VGTC Virtual Reality Academy

The IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Academy was established in 2022 to highlight the accomplishments of the leaders in the field. Criteria for election to the Academy include:

- Cumulative and momentous contributions to research and/or development.
- Broader influence on the field, the community, and on the work of others.
- Significant service and/or active participation in the community.
- Awardees of the IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Lifetime Achievement and Technical Achievement Awards will be inducted the year they receive their award unless already an Academy Member.

Candidates do not have to demonstrate strengths in all of the above areas.

In the inaugural year of the Academy, a Virtual Reality Academy Committee with six voting members was assembled by a nonvoting chair. The chair was selected by the Virtual Reality Awards Program Chair and confirmed by the VGTC Executive Committee, and the committee members were confirmed by the Virtual Reality Awards Program Chair.

The Virtual Reality Academy Committee considered all nominees submitted in response to the two open calls for Virtual Reality Academy nominations, all nominees for the Virtual Reality Lifetime Achievement and Technical Achievement Awards, and nominations from members of the Virtual Reality Academy Committee. Committee members met online to discuss the nominees and voting was performed by secret ballot, with members who had a conflict of interest with any nominee declared to be ineligible to vote for that nominee. The conflict-of-interest policy was based on that used by ACM SIGGRAPH. Each member submitted their votes to two external talliers, who independently summed the votes, ensured that they had the same results, and reported the anonymized results to the committee. The committee agreed to elect to the inaugural class those nominees for whom a majority of the eligible members voted:

Michael Abrash Kurt Akeley Ron Azuma Sabine Coquillart Scott Fisher Myron Krueger Brenda Laurel Benjamin Lok Betty Mohler Qunsheng Peng Ramesh Raskar Jannick Rolland

The inaugural class also includes all recipients of the VGTC Virtual Reality Lifetime Achievement Award (formerly the

VGTC Virtual Reality Career Award) and the VGTC Virtual Reality Technical Achievement Award, up to and including this year, listed here in the order in which they first received one of these awards:

Ivan Sutherland Mel Slater Mark Bolas Larry F. Hodges Kay Stanney Susumu Tachi Carolina Cruz-Neira Thomas A. DeFanti Daniel Sandin Bowen Loftin Bernd Fröhlich Jaron Lanier Hirokazu Kato Frederick P. Brooks, Jr. Ming C. Lin Lawrence J. Rosenblum Dieter Schmalstieg Henry Fuchs Mark Billinghurst Steven K. Feiner Doug A. Bowman Michitaka Hirose Brendan Iribe Michael Antonov Palmer Luckey Thomas A. Furness III Anthony Steed Grigore Burdea Michael Zyda Gregory F. Welch Anatole Lecuyer Victoria Interrante Jeremy Bailenson Mary C. Whitton David P. Luebke Gudrun Klinker Kiyoshi Kiyokawa

## Award Information

The IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Academy was established in 2022 to highlight the accomplishments of the leaders in the field. New members that meet the criteria are inducted each year, including the recipients of the VGTC Lifetime Achievement and Technical Achievement Awards that year, if they are not already members. Nominations can be submitted either via the VGTC

website at https://tc.computer.org/vgtc/awards/vr-awardnominations/ or via direct email to vgtc-vr-awards@vgtc.org.